Not Everyone Is Meant to Stay in Your Life Forever

J.T. Miller
4 min readApr 21, 2024
(Photo courtesy of Pexels.com)

There’s not a whole lot I remember from high school as far as lessons my teachers would teach us. Most things were said and forgotten as quickly as it was taught. It’s usually the “life lessons” that stick with us the most. When I was in the 10th grade, I had a psychology teacher named Mr. Campbell. It was the class that got me first intrigued with psychology, but I was too young and dumb to take it seriously.

During one class, Mr. Campbell said something that has stuck with me to this day. He told us, “Not everyone is meant to stay in your life forever. Sometimes, people come in and out of your life. They are maybe meant to teach you a lesson, good or bad, but then they may leave. And that’s okay. That’s what life is about.”

It obviously struck a nerve in me. At that point in my life, my closest friends from elementary school were still my friends in high school. And all these new friends in high school — I couldn’t imagine going on and losing touch with them. These people who I’ve gone through the most important stages of my development with? What?! That seemed asinine.

(Photo courtesy of Pexels.com)

--

--